RSS

Obsessions of a split mind

06 Mar

Yesterday, I posted the new Acid Black Cherry PV for 未来予想図II. 

Today, I managed to grab their new album, despite it not being out until tomorrow! (don’t you just love the internet!) So I was able to listen to the song as many times as I liked without the intro sequence and the poor quality of Youtube’s audio streamer. 

I’ve always felt more drawn to music than I have to other pursuits. I feel more at ease with a good song than I do any person alive. Often, I find this occurs from the very first note of a song I’ve never heard before, without even knowing why. 

未来予想図II is one of those songs. As soon as I heard it, I was instantly taken in by it’s power, it’s tonality and it’s depth. 

And listening now, I have just found the reason why. 

How often do you hear a song but not hear it at the same time? Do you take in all it has to offer? The lyrics, the chord progressions, the bassline? I know that I do not always hear the bassline of a song, nor the chord progressions. Not consciously anyway, and yet tonight, I put the headphones in so that I could have the music up as loud as I liked without my daughter waking. 

And what I heard… was nothing but pure magic! Not often do I hear something that completely blows me away, steals my breath and leaves me dumbfounded and unable to express what exactly I am hearing. My heart instantly began to race, my little skittle jumping in joy within my abdomen. Perhaps she too feels the music in my veins, coursing through his/hers as it is my own. The whole song was exactly as I heard it before, only amplified… 

Except for that chord progression… Two, three, four times during the chorus. 3 simple chords each time… SO prominent, yet hidden from the auditory range of my ears without the aid of headphones unless I really focus on it…  Yet while I listen through the headphones, it becomes louder than the rest of the song, almost like a secret, whispering to me, almost seeming to talk to my subconscious.

It is these “secret” basslines and hidden chords that make music so magical to me, so amazingly sweet, yet somewhat bitter at the same time. Moments like these are few and far between and honestly, though it make me sound odd and perhaps completely insane, I feel as though I live for them. 

I live for the hidden in-between chords that other people skip over without a second thought. I live for those sudden heart-stopping moments that have me on the precipice of hyperventilation. 

I have heard those same 3 chords before. In another song, in another life. Somehow, I feel they are important to me, like they are trying to tell me something. 

Perhaps it is nothing, but perhaps it is everything. 

We all have something we live for, don’t we? Why not live for the silent moments? The moments that leave us breathless, those which – to an outsider- would seem incomprehensibly insignificant. I’m sat here, tears streaming down my face, trying with all my might to figure out where those chords have been heard before, where they come from and what they might mean. 

If my boyfriend were to turn around now and see me in this state, he’d likely think I’d gone insane. I’m not crying through fear, or pain, or even for any single reason I can put my finger on. 

They’re power. Pure, solid, whole power… and I feel them streaming through me and there’s nothing I can do to stop it. Even now, as I’m writing this, still crying, I cannot stop listening to this one song. 

I’ve actually lost count of how many times I have listened to it already today. It has to be at least 25… and each time, those chords… they get more and more powerful and prominent. 

Moments like these… they make me wonder who I really am. I’m neither manic nor depressed in these moments. It’s as though I have this amazing clarity and am somehow floating, not in my own body, but external from all bodies. Like fluid motion, passing through galaxies, through life, and everything is so crystal… and nothing is important.. like I’m seeing the future AND the past – all at the same time. 

 

gosh, I need help >_<

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2013 in Update

 

Leave a comment